PETALING JAYA | All economic and social activities will not be allowed to operate during the movement control order period from June 1 to 14, except for 17 essential services.

Senior Minister (Security) Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob in a press conference Sunday (May 30) said the essential services include:

1) Food and beverages – including for animals

2) Health and medical care – including dietary supplements, animal care and clinics as well as veterinary services

3) Water

4) Energy

5) Security and safety, defence, emergency, welfare and humanitarian assistance

6) Solid waste management and public cleaning and sewerage

7) Transportation by land, water or air

8) Services and operations of ports, shipyards and airports – including loading, lattice transportation, cargo handling and piloting, and storage or bulk commodity

9) Communications – including media, telecommunications and Internet, post and courier as well as broadcasting (for purpose of conveying information, news and the like only)

10) Banking, insurance, takaful and capital markets

11) Community credit (mortgage only)

12) E-commerce and information technology

13) Production, distillation, storage, supply and distribution of fuels and lubricants

14) Hotels and accommodation, only for the purpose of quarantine, isolation and not for tourism purposes)

15) Critical construction, maintenance and repairs

16) Forestry services (limited to enforcement) and wildlife

17) Logistics limited to the delivery of necessary services




©The Star - Star Media Group Berhad